State of Mind: Getting A Job

How would you feel if you were a person with good grades, always helping others out when you’re able to, being able to finish your desired course with no problems (only a few minor issues), with time for your hobbies, and then…you can’t land a job? How would you feel? Everyone would feel differently, I’m sure.

For me, however, this plays a major role in my depression and, of course, there are a lot of things that could affect the way you’d feel about that. But, there are 3 main reasons I think have the most impact:

The Job You Applied To

If this was a job you were really looking forward to, then I suspect you’d feel sad and maybe a bit angry too. Specially if you applied for the same position at different places and they didn’t even call you back.

If this was “just another job”, one you’re not particularly fond of, then you’d probably feel like you can just keep trying and something better would come up. Right?

The Amount Of Opportunities Near You

Living in a big city doesn’t always mean you have more opportunities, but in a general way, that’s true. That being said, people living in a less populated area have (overall) lower chances of getting their desired job or even a job at all.

The Amount Of Time You’re Looking For A Job

In the first week of looking for a job, you start thinking “Okay, it’s only been a week, I didn’t really expect it to be so fast anyways!” and that’s alright. That’s not a negative way at looking at things. There are thousands of us looking for the same thing that, well, we can’t all get at the same time. But if you’re looking for over a year (which is my case), you just start thinking less and less of yourself and your skills. And there’s probably nothing wrong with any of us, other than having some bad luck chasing what we really want.

And if you’ve read this thus far, you’re probably wondering: What does any of this have to do with games? Games kept me sane through this. This is not a joke, this not an overstatement. That wasn’t the only thing doing so, but it’s a good part of why I’m still able to act the way I do and part of the reason I’m improving. Now, I’m not addicted to gaming, but it’s a big part of who I am and I realised I can use it to be a better version of myself.

Sounds cheeky and cliché, right? I know, but that’s how I feel. And I were to give out any advice… It’d be: don’t give up on doing what you like and don’t give up on improving yourself either. It really is frustrating to not being able to get a job (or when you finally do, you collapse with the pressure – more on this on a future post). Fight the bad feelings. It’s easier said than done…but you can trust me on this: it’s worth it!

7 thoughts on “State of Mind: Getting A Job

  1. Games are hella important for sanity for gamers! They offer an escape from this stupid, unfair world and give you something else to focus on. I’ve learned to be unapologetic in what I like and in what helps me cope with often overly harsh reality. As for the job search, I know frustration doesn’t even begin to explain how you’re feeling about that. I’m glad you have a good support system to help you out, and I hope blogging about it is cathartic, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve always tried to force myself to think positive (and in a way, that’d “stop” depression for a bit). Games have helped me with this too – making me realise there are more ways to achieve one goal than the one I had in mind.

      My support system now is very good and is keeping me in balance – I still have my ups and downs, but I’m mostly on ups now – otherwise, I’d probably just be a sort of “empty shell”. Writing about these things actually lifts a huge weight off of my chest every time I do it. It’s… weird and good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s really hard to think positive when you feel like everything is crumbling around you and you not seeing any results. I kind of feel like people who force that issue really don’t understand what goes on in the mind of the depressed person and by insisting that we “think positively” it’s almost like they’re blaming us for our own depression. Sometimes you can’t help your thoughts.

        I am the distraction queen! It does help to get yourself away from the detrimental thoughts, and games are phenomenal for that. I’m a big reader, too (and writer), which also helps!

        I’m so happy you have a good support system. That’s paramount to good mental health. Writing about it is cathartic I think. Because you can get your thoughts/feelings out in a tangible way. You no longer have to carry around in your head. It’s almost like it stays there until you can either talk to someone or write about it. Like your brain forcing you to hold onto it until you have a record of it somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sometimes it’s doable, others it’s just very hard and some other times…it’s just impossible. No matter what you do, your mind just shifts back to negative thoughts and makes you analyze every little detail about a certain negative outcome…and it sucks, it destroys you – and like you mentioned, some people just can’t get it, because they think positively (…because they’re mentally healthy!).

        Writing has been helping, yes 🙂 And also the fact that, so far, people here are very understanding too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Not cliche at all; games give us purposeful goals and a means to achieve them, and validate our skills while challenging us, so I think it’s natural to turn to video games when those things are lacking in your physical world. (I just talked about video games and happiness on my blog, so this is all fresh in my head, too).

    And I get it. I’m just finishing a master’s degree and had to move back in with my folks because my jobs don’t pay the rent. I’ve not been in, shall we say, the healthiest of emotional/mental states for a while, either. I wish I had a solution for you, but if I find one that works I’ll let you know 🙂 You’re not completely alone, though, even though it feels like it…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you! Games have been a huge thing in my life, ever since I got my hands on a computer – I’m sure they won’t be the only thing to help through this but I’m sure they’ll be a part of it, as always.

      (English isn’t my first language. Some technical terms may be completely wrong)
      I’m currently visiting a psychologist every two weeks for psychotherapy consultations. Luckily, my mother has agreed to pay for it if needed and the psychologist has also decided to lower the price of the consultations to almost half (since she knows that economical issues are also affecting my mind). It’s been working to an extent, so far, and that’s also where I decided to start writing (again)!

      Thanks so much for the comment, especially the kind words in the end 🙂 It’s appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

